The Chancellor's Award


Notification for Chancellor's Award 2021

Instruction Key for reference

Criteria sheet for reference

Click here to Apply Online

The Chancellor's Award was instituted by the Honourable Governor of Kerala to nurture the spirit of healthy competition among the State Universities in Kerala, in becoming vibrant centers of learning. This prestigious award carries an amount of Rupees Five Crore/ One crore a citation and Gold-Plated Trophy to the best performing university among Multi Disciplinary Universities and Specialised Universities (emerging University category) The prize money, provided by the State Government in its Budget, is meant for capital expenditure for any major project in the University.


It was the Vice Chancellors' Conference, chaired by the Honourable Governor, Shri. Justice (Retd) P. Sathasivam on 27th October 2014 at Cochin University of Science and Technology that had decided to institute the Chancellor’s Award. Subsequently, Government of Kerala authorized the Kerala State Higher Education Council to conduct the selection process of Chancellor’s Award for the Best University and Emerging Young University, vide letter No. B2/171/2018/H.EDN dated 03/08/2018. Bharat Ratnam Prof. C.N. R. Rao, F.R.S., Honorary President & Linus Pauling Research Professor, JNCASR, Bangalore is the Chairman of the Selection Committee. 
The selection for the award is based on the marks scored by the varsity for its performance in broad components such as (1) Knowledge Generation, (2) Knowledge Dissemination, (3) Student Profile, (4) Academic Governance, and (5) Social Impact. Marks are awarded on the basis of a list of criteria related to the performance in these areas. The Vice Chancellors also make a detailed presentation of the vision of their Universities before the Selection Committee.

The Process

The Selection Committee headed by Bharat Ratna Prof. C.N.R. Rao, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research Bengaluru (Chairman) constituted by the government firms up the application form (format for Universities) for the Award, every year. The Universities submit the data regarding their achievement during the period of assessment through online mode. The application for the Chancellor’s Award is hosted on the web portal of the Kerala State Higher Education Council.

Inspection Process

The Selection Committee constitutes inspection teams to visit the participating Universities to verify the original documents / data in support of the claims made in the application form for preparing a tabulated statement.
The Selection Committee reviews the tabulation statement, records and the videos submitted before making the final selection. The university that gets the maximum score will be selected for the Award.

Chancellor’s Award-Recipient Universities

Year Chancellor’s Award (Multidisciplinary Universities) Best Emerging University Award(Specialised Universities)
2015 University of Kerala  -
2016 Mahatma Gandhi University  -
2017 Cochin University of Science and Technology Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
2018 Mahatma Gandhi University Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
2019 Cochin University of Science and Technology Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University
2020 Mahatma Gandhi University & Cochin University of Science and Technology Kerala Agricultural University